Provisional Programme

The provisional programme is now available.

Key Updates

  • ACCOMMODATION – if you have not already booked your accommodation for this conference, you are advised to do so immediately! Queenstown is a busy city and rooms are already filling up quickly. There are still limited rooms available at the conference venue (Millennium Hotel), please book these through your registration or email [email protected].
  • CONFERENCE DINNER – Thursday 1st December 6.00pm
    • The theme is ADVENTURE, so get creative with your costumes!
    • Book now! There are still tickets available.
    • Held at the Skyline Gondola, Queenstown, your ticket includes stunning views, a gondola ride, and a three course meal, assortment of drinks, live entertainment as well as transportation to and from the Millennium Hotel.
    • This will also be the culmination of the Hydrologic Games which will be taking place throughout the conference.
  • CONFERENCE BAG DETAILS FOR 2016 – There will not be a bag/satchel provided at this year’s conference, so you will need to bring your own if you wish to have one with you, there will be a surprise gift on entry instead!
  • CLICK HERE FOR INFO ON FIELD TRIPS – These are already getting booked out – if you do wish to go on a field trip, please book now through your registration login, or contact Tracy, the conference organiser.


If you have not seen already our Keynote speakers for the conference include:

  • Peter Goodwin, from Idaho Universtiy – Talk topic: Balancing Water Supply Reliability and Ecosystem Restoration: Example of the San Francisco Bay-Delta in California, USA
  • Rory Nathan, from the University of Melbourne – Talk topic: Impact of hydrologic variability on design flood estimates
  • Jen Crawford, from Anderson Lloyd – Talk Topic: The Problem with Ponds

For all the information on our keynotes, CLICK HERE.

We look forward to welcoming you to Queenstown!

From the Organising Committee,
Charles Pearson (NZ Chair) // NIWA
Mark Babister (Australia Chair) // WMA Water
Sarah Mager // Otago University
Lawrence Kees // Environment Southland
Tim Davie // ECan
Jo Hoyle // NIWA
James Ball // University of Technology Sydney
Monique Retallick // WMA Water